Systems Policing: a fair CoP?

Why does nobody understand or appreciate or love System(s) Thinking?

A contrarian view.

arthur~battram…

https://www.themarshallproject.org/2016/04/21/why-i-hated-being-a-cop#.ooZAgNgmv

People often say to me, they say, “Please tell us, Captain Complexity, why does nobody understand or appreciate or love System(s) Thinking?”

And I say, quoting an ex-President of the United States, “Gee, that’s a toughie, dude.”

Then I ramble on about complexity and ecology and learning n shit.

Then I found this blog, by an American CoP*. He says, in the course of a superb essay/reminiscence:

“Getting away from the job really freed up my mind.”

“There’s a great quote from Upton Sinclair:

” “It is difficult to get a man to understand something when his salary depends on his not understanding it.”

So now I just tell people to read his blog. Aren’t the police wonderful? Fight the power.

_________
*Lolz. That’s a wanger joke. Oops, I mean Wenger, bloody autocreckt. It’s a fair cop.

View original post

I love comments, all comments…

