Play, anxiety, moral learning, and a certain fragrance

This blog is about 5 things, I’m interested in 4 of them in a big way and all of them generally: viz. play, freedom, morality and anxiety.

Love the points you make about adult anxiety on behalf of the playing child; playworkers who work with parents (as in all playworkers,IMHO) need to have a heightened awareness of this.

Totally agree with freedom point, we can easily forget that, because playwork takes it for granted.

The role of play in the development of morality is less well understood and not written about much, fair play to you for highlighting it. I’m reblogging mostly for this point. I’m currently writing a paper based on my presentation at the “Play in Austerity”conference in May, which looked at this very area, and, as we agreed at the time, it was a shame that you couldn’t both be present in the room and present to the room.

Excellent work, B, my actions speak louder than my words, which is why I’m reblogging.

Bernard Spiegal

I want to say a few words about aspects of play, and the hinterland of adult decision-making about it, that tend not to figure prominently in most of the  writings I see, or in the general discourse.

But before doing that, by way of lead in, I want to do an unashamed  promo for the International School Grounds Alliance (ISGA).   In its own words it is, ‘a global network of organisations working to enrich children’s learning and play through improving the way school grounds are designed and used’.  It is worth adding that it sees school grounds as integral to the local environment,  not as separate, sequestered spaces  solely in the control of schools.  In the UK at least, this represents a real challenge. (I’ve mentioned this before) 

The ‘International’ aspect is real and growing.   Delegates attending  the recent ISGA/Evergreen[1] conference in Toronto include those…

View original post 971 more words

I love comments, all comments…

