Calm is the lamp and insight is the light | THINKING ABOUT DESIGNING                         

I’m  working my way through this:

http://hackdesign.org/lesson/0/   (It’s free, you can too)        

and I’m currently designing some training materials, AND I’m currently designing some events/interventions/processes. I’m avoiding the t-word, because this is not training, this is not teaching,

This IS about

HELPING people

THINK about and

WORK out

WHAT

they are going to

DO

So, I’m watching the superb movie ‘Objectified’, (you can too, it’s free) and the first clip features Dieter Rams, who designed my Braun alarm clock, which has sat by my bedside for maybe THIRTY years, talking about bonsai, and the second clip features Jonny Ive of Apple talking about designing processes, not just objects: about wanting to produce something that isn’t all hysterical and gosh-wow about what it does and how heroic the designers were but rather, something that is calm and considered, and isn’t even there when it doesn’t need to be, something that is both almost inevitable and almost not designed. He gives us the example of the tiny, slowly pulsing sleep indicator light on the front edge of a MacBook, which is only visible when the machine is charged and not in use.

macbook air side view

macbook air

And my calendar today informs me that:

“Calm is the lamp and insight is the light.”

Hui-Neng, the Sixth Patriarch of Zen     

lamp and light

lamp and light

I love comments, all comments…

