This playworker’s work (or, for better SEO spreading of the word, what is playwork?)

More thoughtful excellence from Joel…

playworkings

It’s becoming clear to me that this is a period of great change. When we meet new people, we often ask (as a means of fixing one another with some reference point, some template to colour in), what do you do? The best answer I’ve come across (and I forget the source) is, I do the best I can. Telling people you’re a playworker, I find, often results in puzzled looks, or replies like, ‘So, you teach children?’ or maybe, ‘So, you teach children how to play?’ or anything along the lines of keeping children in line or out of ‘mischief’.

More and more these days, I’m realising that interaction in- and for the play world is my ‘vocation’ (something that inspires me); my ‘work’, however, is in advocating (call it ‘preaching’, if you will) for play. Playwork Principle 4 (for those readers not of the playwork world) highlights…

View original post 962 more words

One thought on “This playworker’s work (or, for better SEO spreading of the word, what is playwork?)

  1. Hi Arthur. I wrote this in the morning, and in the evening I met someone new. She asked the question! I had a curious sense of a conversation of social nicety unfolding out before I’d even opened my mouth! Dejadvocation?

    Thanks again for picking this up and reblogging.

I love comments, all comments…

