PSD blighting the lives of intelligent people – Pundit Sermonising Disorder

Good evening.

I’d like to talk to you about a little-known disorder  known as PSD: ‘pundit sermonising disorder’. I’d also like you to support the  charity PSDOF – The PSD Organic Federation, which desperately needs your help.

Let me tell you a little bit about PSD. PSD afflicts many well-meaning people, and appears to correlate highly with intelligence, writing and opinion-holding, three of the 7 required symptoms for the so-called ‘delusional disorder’ category, according to DSM-VI, the psychiatrist’s bible.

I used to be a high-performing PSD sufferer myself – I was a management guru (more one-hit wonder, than Springsteen), and just like a vicar, I used to deliver sermons to confused and vulnerable managers, sometimes in some of the cathedrals of management like your LSE business school, sometimes in the works canteen.

What all these sermons had in common was a tendency to tell people stuff that should be true, that sounded like it was true, but wasn’t actually true, in support of my sermon. I was doing Our Lord Drucker’s work, I was making the world of management better,  what could be wrong with embroidering my sermon with ‘science bits’ making my argument more shiny and manageable in a wholly understandable and laudable attempt to persuade managers to be nice to their staff? such is the delusion that afflicts the PSD sufferer, sadly and tragically trapped in a world of managerialist jargon of their own making, through no fault of their own.

I’m pleased to be able to say that I am now in recovery as a PSD sufferer, and I urge anyone reading this who thinks that they might also suffer from PSD, or their loved ones, to seek help. PSD is not life-threatening, and sufferers can be supported in finding suitable work such as teaching business studies to sixth formers in a local FE college.

PSD is an under-reported disorder which blights the lives of many people in all walks of management. Outwardly a condition that only causes harm to the sufferer themselves, it is in fact responsible for untold misery in the workplace. A recent study by a University business school found that the cost of PSD for average large UK business(500+ employees) was in the region of £650M per annum, in lost productivity.

Thank you for listening. If you’d like to make a donation you can contact my charitable foundation via my website.

 

 

 

 

I love comments, all comments…

