Maybe you hate what I write maybe you…

Maybe you hate what I write, maybe you like some of it. How would I know? I may be writing stuff that you hate, that you’d like me to stop writing, or you may want me to write more about that little thing I once wrote, that you really liked. A publisher told me they didn’t like footnotes. This is good information. As it happens, I disagree; I like footnotes and will continue to use them, pointing out that they are all gathered neatly together at the bottom or ‘foot’ as we in the wordinesss business like to say, which makes them easy to ignore. But that’s not the point. The point is writers need feedback. It only takes seconds of your time, it need only be a few words like “I liked that bit about George in your ‘Fire’ piece recently”.

Don’t make me beg.

4 thoughts on “Maybe you hate what I write maybe you…

  1. this is me, commenting on my own blog, having logged out of WP, to check out whether people can actually comment on my blog, having asked people to comment on my blog, it seems that I can, which means that the option to comment, by clicking on the word ‘reply’ next to the word ‘permalink’ in the header of each and every entry is active and does enable anyone to comment. so please do folks. this means you mark. ta.

  2. I dont see a problem with footnotes within reason. I suppose it is a bit like when on the internet and checking something out and that leads you to something else and then something else

    • What a splendid even-handed point, A-M. and yes it is a bit like wiffling on the web (What Was I Looking For? WWILF).

      Because my footnotes always proliferate, outwith ‘reason’, wilfully wiffling, which is probably why they were editorially deprecated.

      There are two authors, who I much admire, who use footnotes like what I do.

      My use of footnotes is a poor imitation of both Jack Vance, the greatest fantasy writer ever, and Terry Pratchett, one of the greats. I had the honour to be compared to Pratchett in a review of my book (‘Navigating Complexity: the essential guide to complexity theory in business and management’).

      Now, I feel I must point out that some folk misunderstand the Pratchett link. I don’t so much admire Pratchett as a writer of comedy and fantasy, and neither did the reviewer who made the comparison ( I like to think). I more admire him for the work he has done, and continues to do in 2 ways:
      a. lampooning the stupidities of our modern world
      b. encouraging the lay public to better appreciate science (the Science of Discworld books with Cohen and Stewart)
      c. making people think.

      The reviewer was saying that I had succeeded in making complex ideas accessible to a lay audience. I could’ve kissed him.

I love comments, all comments…

